Published: Thu, April 12, 2018
World News | By Laverne Osborne

Candidate list circulated on social media for Karnataka polls 'fake': Congress

Candidate list circulated on social media for Karnataka polls 'fake': Congress

Yeddyurappa, will contest from Shikaripura Assembly constituency, the party's Central Election Committee announced on Sunday, as it released a list of 72 candidates for the high-stake contest. Soon after the list began to attract heat, the Congress party came out with a clarification and said that it was a "fake press release and AICC has not issued anything regarding this".

Among the candidates are numerous party's 48 sitting or outgoing legislators from the state's northern, central and southern region, including Bengaluru, which has 28 assembly constituencies.

"Congress sources said the option of Chief Minister Siddaramaiah contesting from two seats â€" Badami and Chamundeshwari was still open.

Karnataka is scheduled to go for Assembly election in May this year. The "list" under circulation is fake.

Barcelona Shocked By AS Roma, Ousted By The Italian Side In QF
We did not make it but we have to keep going, there is nothing else we can do. "The Champions League punishes you for that". Further, he said: "Of course we should believe in the final". "I'm on cloud nine", Pallotta said at the Stadio Olimpico.

"Please don't patronise products of the #FakeNews factory", he said.

The list is likely to be announced before April 15 and the members of the selection committee discussed candidates to be fielded from Belagavi Bengaluru, Gulbarga and Mysuru.

The Screening Committee is expected to meet at 10:30 am on Tuesday and the deliberations on the remaining seats are expected to continue throughout the day. Shah continued consulting his key aides to pick the right candidates after the first list of 72 candidates was put out late on Saturday night. This live blog will attempt to collate major news breaks which are pertinent to the upcoming elections and get crucial information related to the state Assembly election on one page.

Like this: